2021 Toyota Highlander gray driving on bridge at twilight

What’s New on the 2021 Toyota Highlander?

The Toyota Highlander is one of the oldest names in Toyota SUVs. Before Toyota and every other automaker flooded the market with crossovers of all sizes, the Highlander was driving families around the country for years. The first model year of the Highlander was the 2001, so the 2021 model year is the 20th model year since the Highlander first rolled onto dealership lots. So, what is new on the 2021 Toyota Highlander? Continue reading to find out!

Is there a New Trim Available for the 2021 Toyota Highlander?

If you find out trims are being added to a vehicle’s list of trims, you can be confident that the model is doing quite well and deserves more options. The 2021 Toyota Highlander does not lose any trims, it only gains the XSE trim. This trim is sporty, featuring a Sof-Tex®-Trimmed interior with heated front seats. There is also a moonroof and a wireless phone charging pad so you don’t need to worry about plugging in your phone when you go for a drive.

What Colors Does the 2020 Toyota Highlander Come In?

How Many Seats Does the 2021 Toyota Highlander Have?

Like previous model years, the Highlander is a three-row SUV. It is sold with either captain’s chairs in the middle row or a middle row bench. When there are captain’s chairs in the middle the Highlander seats 7 at most, but the bench version seats up to 8.

What’s the Best Toyota Model For Road Trips In Idaho?

Is the 2021 Toyota Highlander a Hybrid?

There is a hybrid version of the 2021 Toyota Highlander available, but the vehicle is not a hybrid automatically. Since nearly every Toyota vehicle in the 2021 model year either is or has a hybrid variant, this should come as no surprise.

2021 Toyota Highlander interior angled close up of infotainment system
2021 Toyota Highlander interior jbl speaker

How Many Trim Levels Does the 2021 Toyota Highlander Have?

Not including hybrid versions of trims, the 2021 Toyota Highlander has 6 trim levels. The list below shows each of the trims with the highest trim on the top left of the list and the lowest on the bottom right.

  • Highlander Platinum
  • Highlander Limited
  • Highlander XSE
  • Highlander XLE
  • Highlander LE
  • Highlander L